how to summarize a month…?

Oh man, I have been the worst blogger ever!  I’ve been feeling guilty about this as I promised many of you I’d keep you updated here.  I wanted to be able to share more about daily life, things I’m experiencing, etc. but it’s been challenging.  Most days don’t have anything extraordinary happening it seems, and then when I think of something fun to share, I’ve talked myself out of it by the end of the day… or I’m too tired to mentally put things into words.  I’m going to try to be better, but it may take time.  I’m learning to take things one day at a time as I continue to transition here and I’m going to give myself grace if I don’t post again for another month.  {Although I really do hope it doesn’t take me that long!}

So what have I been up to since February 15?  Here are some randoms…

I’ve gone to the Masaai market with visitors of the guest house.  This is a good place for me to practice my Swahili… The Kenyans seem impressed and start lowering their price when I do this, but after about 2 or 3 sentences, I blow my cover revealing “na sema kiswahili kidogo, lakini si visuri sana” {I only speak Swahili a little and not very well!}.  The market travels to different locations throughout the week.  This one is at Village Market, an incredible shopping center in a very nice area of Nairobi.

At the house we’ve watched Out of Africa which I love, love, love.  Every time I drive home from work there is a spot I round the corner on the round and the Ngong Hills come into view.  On cue I hear myself saying dreamily, “I once had a farm in Africa…”  I recently met a great family from the states that has been here since November.  They live right around the corner from us {in Karen}, only to find out that the house they are in was the house one of the producer’s of Out of Africa lived in!  There are props from the movie still in their cellar.  How cool is that?!  It’s on my agenda to hit the Karen Blixen Museum very soon!

I’ve been trying to be consistent in going to a Discipleship Class at the Karen Vineyard Church, as well as with exercise.  I admit, I haven’t done too well in either, but I’M TRYING!

Amani has been experimenting and is about to launch an open grilled cheeseburger… YUM!  I’ve been thoroughly enjoying the taste testing!  Because of their inside tips, I finally think I’ve found some excellent cheddar cheese that tastes like home.

One of the biggest blessings this past month has been my home group.  We meet every Thursday at our house and on any given night there are 6 – 30 of us gathered to study the Bible in depth.  We’ve been in Acts 1 for the last couple of weeks.  It’s been refreshing and challenging.  I have longed for a meaty study like this for some time that involves going back to the original language for word meanings, contextual pictures, etc.  I love it!

I’ve been doing some house projects on the guest house that I stay at… that has been a fun way to serve Chris and Lindy.  I’m gone at Amani during the days and when I come home they already have the groceries bought and dinner is cooking, so I don’t feel like I can pull my weight much other than doing dishes.  So I’ve taken to painting.  I’ll have some fun “before and after” shots soon!

And most recently I went to a salsa event our church put on at the Karen Country Lodge.  Dance lessons were included and I was hoping to have more energy to try it, but I went more low key and instead got a little bit of quality talk time with some new friends. Sometimes I really wish I weren’t so shy!  It was fun though and I got to see a new place that had some lively interior design… they called it “modern chic”!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to how to summarize a month…?

  1. Seth says:

    Love hearing stories from your days.

  2. Andrea R. says:

    no guilt about only blogging once in a while…i enjoy it when you send it, but aren’t mad when you don’t!

    love hearing your stories- stay encouraged my friend! :)

Leave a Reply

