uncomfortable

i don’t have all the words yet.  adjustment is hard.  uncomfortable.  yet there is hope in it.  “the Lord will fulfill His purpose for me; Your love oh Lord, endures forever.  Do not abandon the works of your hands (psalm 138:8).” i thought that leaving my career, leaving my home, leaving my friends and family were my sacrifice.  now that i’m here, i realize it was just the beginning.  every day i am smacked in the face with my own selfishness and personal desires.

i’ve been chewing on the parable of the sower in mark 4.  “Other seed fell among thorns, which grew up and choked the plants, so that they did not bear grain (7).  Jesus said, “He who has ears to hear, let him hear (9)… Still others, like seed sown among thorns, hear the word; but the worries of this life, the deceitfulness of wealth and the desires for other things come in and choke the word, making it unfruitful. (18,19)”

conviction.  i want to be so in love with God’s plans and not choked by my own desires.  my life is not my own but for Him.  how easily i forget.  am i bearing fruit?  what am i still holding on to that is getting in the way of me being closer to God?

i’m slowly reading the book “radical” by david platt.  to be quite honest, i’m on chapter 2 and it’s rocking my world. read it with me. let’s talk. i’ve been raised in a culture where comfort is more revered than the world’s deepest need: Christ. comfort in every sense of the word. conviction.

today we went to kibera; the largest slum in east africa with approx. 1 million people living in roughly a square mile.

trash.  ashes.  hunger.  desperation.  unjust.

UNcomfortable.

we attended church at our friends.  there are some visitors here from the states that did some teachings as well.  it was a beautiful experience…   beauty.  here?  really?  listen and see:

they were so welcoming and hospitable… serving us chai and mandazi…


my prayer is, may You, oh Lord, conform us to be more like You every day… even if it hurts and is uncomfortable.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to uncomfortable

  1. Elliott Stotler says:

    Awesome blogs and newsletter. I read the book ‘Radical’ on the flights from ATL to Durban. Lots of time to read! I thought that it would be good ‘purging’ as we crossed cultures to our assignment in South Africa. I was right! Keep wrestling, Ali. There you will find God in a powerful way!

    We are getting adjusted and just about to begin language learning. Scary! Cason is enjoying school and Katherine and I are blessed with new experiences every day.

    • aiyamichelle says:

      Thanks Elliot! I actually haven’t gotten past chapter 2 yet because the book returned to the states with a traveler… but I’ll get my hands back on it someday soon I hope!

      Glad to hear you are all settling in well. You will do great with your language studies! Give Katherine a hug for me :)

Leave a Reply

