I woke up this morning in Kenya!

I’m here, I’m safe and {Praise God!} I have ALL of my luggage!  And that constitutes an excellent start to this journey!

Some of you may remember my insomnia saga from the last trip.  Thankfully I slept from 1am – 11am Kenya time last night.  I’m yawing quite a bit while I write this but I’m determined to stay awake until 9pm tonight… I am, yes, definitely, not going to bed before that {yawn…}  We’re 7 hours ahead of you in EST, so I only have a few more hours to go!

It’s an exciting but strange feeling to be here again so quickly after living here the month of January.  I recognize the roads and shops and understand how things run at the house.  It makes for an easy physical adjustment.  The emotional adjustment is a little tougher to be honest.  It just doesn’t feel right living here without the Austins… but the people I am living with now are fantastic.  There are 14 of us at the house right now!  That’s right, 14!  I’m looking forward to getting to know them more these next couple of weeks.

Since I slept in so late today and had a slow peaceful morning, I decided to be bold and take a small adventure this afternoon… I drove myself to the Karen Nakumat and to the gas station!  Woohoo!  I considered singing, “I am woman, hear me roar!” afterwards but I could still feel myself sweating from it, so I kept my mouth shut.

Tomorrow is my first day at Amani…!  I had some nice quiet time today to review everything I wanted to for our first design meeting tomorrow and am feeling as ready as I can be for it.  I read this scripture this morning that encouraged me as I’ve been nervous about fulfilling my new leadership role with them:

“Yes, and I will continue to rejoice, for I know that through your prayers and the help given by the Spirit of Jesus Christ, what has happened to me will turn out for my deliverance.  I eagerly expect and hope that I will in no way be ashamed, but will have sufficient courage so that now as always Christ will be exalted…” {Philippians 1:18-20}

Getting to design again will be fun!  And I can’t wait to see all of the ladies… one of the ladies had a baby girl since I was last there in Jan and I hope, hope, hope she brings her in to work tomorrow!

I’m off to go learn how make jowza’s (sp?!).  One of the ladies staying here grew up in Taiwan and is making this amazing meal for us tonight… mmm…

Stay tuned… more updates tomorrow…!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I woke up this morning in Kenya!

  1. Sara A says:

    Great to hear about your first couple of days back!! Wow! 14 people off the bat. Proud of you for heading out by yourself on the first day! Can’t wait to hear more. Praying for you. Oh . . . so sweet to hear that you miss us being there, too. :)

  2. kristin says:

    so glad you’re safe and settling in! good luck with your presentation!!!

  3. Mom says:

    Hey, Toots………
    You sound elated to be back in the Kenyan culture! Amani is so lucky to be blessed with your talents as they plan their 2011 line of products. You’ll do them well! You’re in our prayers~constantly!~ and we miss you, but feel you are safe and surrounded in God’s love and loving arms. Remember…. don’t take any risks, Miss “Woman Hear Me Roar”! We want you back on US land both safe and sound!!!!! Make the most of your days there. Be sure and blog about the African wedding this week!
    Love and hugs………… Mom

  4. Jean says:

    Hi Ali!

    I enjoyed reading your first blog. Look forward to catching up on more. Just returned from an amazing but devastating week in El Salvador. I believe you’re making jaozi. It’s a Chinese Dumpling. Love, Jean

Leave a Reply

